Thursday, December 31, 2009

Geoff Hague Selected for Studio Furniture 2010

Studio Furniture 2010 is an Australian Wood Review competition for furniture designers/makers organised with and sponsored by Bungendore Wood Works Gallery.

This year, 128 entries were assessed. Selected and award-winning works will be shown at Bungendore Wood Works Gallery from Jan 23 to March 31, 2010.
Criteria for studio furniture is one-of-a-kind or limited edition work made by an individual designer/maker. It is not mass produced. The furniture reflects the maker's signature in style and skill.

Copper Leg Chair no. 4.

Bungendore Wood Works Gallery (BWWG) in NSW is one of Australia’s premier galleries for wood and last year celebrated 25 years of presenting the finest woodwork to a growing number of buyers. BWWG is again sponsoring $10,000 prize money to competition entrants, in addition to the opportunity to have their work featured in their gallery. There are three awards: First prize $5,000, Second $3,000, Third $2,000.

Landscape Desk.

The judges for Studio Furniture 2010 are David Boucher (Boucher & Co, Toowoomba) and William Matthysen (furniture and clock designer/maker). Award winners will be announced at the exhibition opening, January 23, 2010.

Monday, December 14, 2009

The Toyota Community Spirit Gallery : Calling for Submissions from Emerging Artists

The Toyota Community Spirit Gallery is calling for submissions from emerging artists to exhibit in our Emerging Artist exhibition in March 2010.

A broad range of contemporary and traditional works across all mediums is sought from artists from diverse social and cultural backgrounds. The focus is on local artists from the cities of Port Phillip and Hobsons Bay but the program is also open to regional and interstate artists in Australia.

There is no cost to exhibit and no commission charged on sales of work.   Established in 2004, the Gallery runs a continuous program of exhibitions at Toyota’s corporate headquarters in Port Melbourne and has shown the works of over 490 artists. 

Successful applicants are eligible to apply for the $10,000 Toyota Community Spirit Artist Travel Award.

To download further information on this exhibition and application documents:

Applications close 8 February 2010.

Barbara Licha selected for Alice Prize 2010

Barbara is one of the 52 artists selected for the 36th Alice Prize.  The exhibition date will be 1 May - 6 June at the Araluen Galleries.

Pre-selection panel:
Anthony Gribble: Exhibitions Officer, Araluen Galleries
Anita Angel: Historian and Curator of the Charles Darwin University Art Collection.
David Hurlston: Curator of Australian Art, National Gallery of Victoria

For full finalist listing and more information, click here.